Search papers

DONATE

PRQ



The Western

PROGRAM COMMITTEES

75th ANNIVERSARY COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS IN
THE PROFESSION

COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF BLACKS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMUNITY COLLEGE COMMITTEE
FIRST GENERATION SCHOLARS COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF LATINOS/AS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN THE PROFESSION
CLIMATE ACTION COMMITTEE
SOCIAL MEDIA COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE ON PUBLICATIONS
DISSERTATION AWARD COMMITTEE
BETTY MOULDS LIFETIME SERVICE AWARD
CLAY MORGAN AWARD COMMITTEE
DON T. NAKANISHI BEST PAPER ON ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTEE
PRQ AWARD COMMITTEE
PGI AWARD COMMITTEE

Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Committee
TBA
 
Committee on Nominations
Chair: Lisa Magaña, Arizona State University
lisa.magana@asu.edu
Members:
Timothy Luke (2019-2021)
Virginia Tech
twluke@vt.edu
Victoria Farrar-Myers (2019-2021)
Southern Methodist University
vmyers@mail.smu.edu

Flavio R. Hickel (2020-2022)
University of Delaware
FlavioHickelJr@gmail.com

Janni Aragon (2020-2022)
Executive Council Liaison
University of Victoria
jaragon@uvic.ca

Committee on the Status of Asian Pacific Americans

Chair: Ngoc Phan (2020-2024)
Hawaii Pacific University
ntphan@hpu.edu

Members:

Megan Ming Francis (2018-21)
University of Washington
meganmf@uw.edu

Christian Dyogi Phillips 2018-2021
University of Southern California
cdphilli@usc.edu

Daniel Lee (2019-22)
University of California, Berkeley
dan.lee@berkeley.edu

Vivien Leung (2020-24) University of California, Los Angeles
vivienleung@ucla.edu

Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession
Chair: Christopher Parker (2018-21)
University of Washington
csparker@uw.edu
Members:

Stacey Greene (2018-21)
Rutgers University
s.greene@rutgers.edu

Christopher Stout (2019-22)
Oregon State University
christopher.stout@oregonstate.edu

Davin Phoenix (2019-22)
University of California, Irvine
dphoenix@uci.edu

Debra Thompson (2020-24)
University of Oregon
thompson@uoregon.edu

Community College Committee
Chair: Rogelio Garcia
East Los Angeles College
garciar3@elac.edu
Members:

Peter Bowman
Palomar College
pbowman@palomar.edu

Josue Franco
Cuyamaca College
josue.franco@gcccd.edu

Steven Cauchon
Imperial Valley College
steven.cauchon@imperial.edu

Levy LaDella
College of Southern Nevada
LaDella.Levy@csn.edu

First Generation Committee

Chair: Jonathan Benjamin Alvarado
University of Nebraska, Omaha
jalvarado@unomaha.edu

Members:
Kim Yi Dionne
University of California, Riverside
kdionne@ucr.edu
Maricruz Osorio
University of California, Riverside
mosor001@ucr.edu
Shaun Bowler
University of California, Riverside
shaun.bowler@ucr.edu
Lorrie Frasure-Yokley
University of California, Los Angeles
lfrasure@polisci.ucla.edu
Committee on the Status of Latinas/os in the Profession
Chair: Mara Cecilia Ostfeld (2020-2024)
University of Michigan
mostfeld@umich.edu

Members:

Sophia Wallace (2018-21)
University of Washington
sophiajw@uw.edu

Angela Ocampo (2018-21)
University of Michigan
axocampo@umich.edu

Claudia Sandoval (2019-22)
Loyola Marymount University
Claudia.Sandoval@lmu.edu

Brad Jones (2020-2024)
University of California, Davis jones.bradford.s@gmail.com

Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession

Chair: Linda Alvarez (2019-22)
California State University, Northridge
linda.alvarez@csun.edu

Members:

Dara Strolovitch (2019-21)
Princeton University
dzs@princeton.edu

Alissa Kessel (2019-22)
Puget Sound University
akessel@pugetsound.edu

Melina Juarez (2020-2024)
Western Washington University melina.juarez1@gmail.com

Nazita Lajevardi (2020-2024)
Michigan State University
nazita@msu.edu

Climate Action Committee
The Western Political Science Association has formed a Climate Action Committee to generate proposals for reducing the association’s contributions to climate change.

Chair: Jamie Mayerfeld
University of Washington

Members:
Jessica Lavariega Monforti, California Lutheran University, President of WPSA (2020-21)
Richard Clucas, Portland State University, Executive Director of WPSA
Kellan Anfinson, Bard College
Chris Crews, New School for Social Research
Cara Daggett, Virginia Tech
Nives Dolsak, University of Washington
Elisabeth Ellis, University of Otago
Shane Gunster, Simon Fraser University
Cheryl Hall, University of South Florida
Matthew Leep, Western Governors University
John Meyer, Humboldt State University
Aseem Prakash, University of Washington
Sarah Shair-Rosenfield, Arizona State University

Social Media Committee
TBA
Committee on Publications
Chair: Lan Chu
Occidental College
lchu@oxy.edu
Members:
Jane Junn
University of Southern California
junn@usc.edu

Tony Carey
University of North Texas
Tony.Carey@unt.edu

AWARDS COMMITTEES:

Each year, the Western Political Science Association gives out awards for some of the best papers to be presented at the annual conference. With the cancellation of the 2020 meeting in Los Angeles, the Association will not be giving out these awards at the 2021 meeting in Seattle. However, several other award committees will be giving out awards. Listed below are the committees that will be giving out awards next year, along with the names of the committee members. If you were a recipient of a 2020 award, we hope you can join us in Seattle in April 2021. We intend to recognize all of the 2020 award recipients at next year’s meeting.

Dissertation Award:

For the best doctoral dissertation completed at a university within the regional groupings of the WPSA between July 1 and June 30 of the previous academic year. ($250 award)

Deadline: October 15, 2020

Chair: Hakeem Jefferson
Stanford University
Hakeem@stanford.edu

Julia Hellewege
University of South Dakota
julia.hellwege@usd.edu

Robin Jacobson
Puget Sound University
rjacobson@pugetsound.edu

Betty Moulds Lifetime Service Award:

Chair: Gary Segura
University of California, Los Angeles
segura@luskin.ucla.edu

Celeste Montoya
University of Colorado, Boulder
Celeste.Montoya@Colorado.EDU

Andrea Simpson
University of Richmond
asimpson@richmond.edu

Clay Morgan Award:

Chair: Chris Buck
Government Department
St. Lawrence University
Hepburn Hall
Canton, NY 13617 USA
cbuck@stlawu.edu

Ashley Dodsworth
School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies (SPAIS)
University of Bristol
Room 1.6, 3 Priory Road
Bristol, BS8 1TU UK
ashley.dodsworth@bristol.ac.uk

Yogi Hale Hendlin
Dynamics of Inclusive Prosperity Initiative
Erasmus School of Philosophy
Erasmus University Rotterdam
Postbus 1738
3000 DR Rotterdam NL
hendlin@esphil.eur.nl
Don T. Nakanishi Best Paper Award on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems that concern
Asian Pacific Americans. ($250 award)

Chair: Ngoc Phan (2020-2024)
Hawaii Pacific University
ntphan@hpu.edu

Members:

Megan Ming Francis (2018-21)
University of Washington
meganmf@uw.edu

Christian Dyogi Phillips 2018-2021
University of Southern California
cdphilli@usc.edu

Daniel Lee (2019-22)
University of California, Berkeley
dan.lee@berkeley.edu

Vivien Leung (2020-24) University of California, Los Angeles
vivienleung@ucla.edu

PRQ Award

The Political Research Quarterly Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PRQ during the prior calendar year. ($1000 award)

Chair: Kathy Powers
University of New Mexico
kpowers1@unm.edu

Michael L. McLendon
California State University, Los Angeles
mmclend2@exchange.calstatela.edu

Shane Singh
University of Georgia
singh@uga.edu

PGI Award

The Politics Groups and Identities Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PGI during the prior calendar year. ($500 award)

Chair: Melissa Michelson
Menlo College
melissa.michelson@gmail.com

Andrew Aoki
Augsburg University
aoki@augsburg.edu

Malliga Och
Idaho State
ochmall@isu.edu

 

 


For information on this website, contact favilaej@csus.edu.