Committee Chairs, Section Chairs, and other participants are encouraged to nominate papers for award consideration. The following guidelines are to be noted by persons submitting work:

1. With the exception of the PRQ Award, no previously published material is to be submitted.

2. Review processes for each award are conducted by award committees consisting of at least three political scientists. The review process is anonymous.

3. WPSA awards carry monetary prizes determined by the Executive Council, or, in the case of the PRQ award, determined by the PRQ Editors.

4. As part of the long-standing commitment of the Association to have the Political Research Quarterly reflect the intellectual strengths of the organization, WPSA paper award winners are provided with an enhanced opportunity to seek publication of the paper in PRQ. Papers receiving WPSA awards will be offered the opportunity of an expedited review. If, after the first review, an award winning paper does not meet the normal publication standards as determined by the editor(s), at least one opportunity to revise and resubmit will be provided to the author(s). There is no guarantee that papers will be published, but the editors will make every effort to work with authors to bring manuscripts to the level required by the normal peer review process. Papers must be submitted through the web-based submission system within six months of receipt of the award.

5. Winners of the Awards are announced at the Annual Meeting of the WPSA.

Where to Submit

Please send award submission to the individuals listed below by the deadline noted. No previously published material may be submitted.

Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award
Loan Le
Institute for Good Government and Inclusion
June 15, 2023

Blacks and Politics Best Paper Award
Debra Thompson
McGill University
June 15, 2023

Charles Redd Politics of the american West Award
Chair: Sanghee Park
Boise State University
Deadline: June 15, 2023

Clay Morgan Book Award: (Click here for Award Description)
Chair: TBA
Deadline: August 1, 2023

Dissertation Award:
Chair: Rachel Brown
Washington University, St. Louis
Deadline: October 15, 2023

Don T. Nakanishi Award for Distinguished Scholarship and Service in Asian Pacific American Politics:
Janelle Wong
University of Maryland
Deadline: June 15, 2023

Environmental Political Theory Award
Gwen Ottinger
Drexel University
Deadline: June 15, 2023

Latino/Latina Politics Best Paper Award
Chair: Christopher Olds
Fort Hays State University
Deadline: June 15, 2023

Pi Sigma Alpha Award
Chair: Young-Im Lee
California State University, Sacramento
Deadline: June 15, 2023

William E. Connolly Award (Political Theory)
Chair: Steven Johnston,
University of Utah
Deadline: June 15, 2023

Political Research Quarterly Best Article Award:
Jordan Carr Peterson
North Carolina State University

Politics, Groups and Identities Best Article Award:
Jane Junn
University of Southern California