PROGRAM COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS IN
THE PROFESSION

COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF BLACKS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF LATINOS/AS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN THE PROFESSION
BEST PAPER ON CHICANAS/CHICANOS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE

BEST PAPER ON BLACKS AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTEE
BETTY NESVOLD WOMEN AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTE
BETTY MOULDS LIFETIME SERVICE AWARD
CHARLES REDD POLITICS OF THE AMERICAN WEST AWARD COMMITTEE
CLAY MORGAN AWARD COMMITTEE

DISSERTATION AWARD COMMITTEE
DON T. NAKANISHI BEST PAPER ON ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE
ENVIRONMENTAL POLITICAL THEORY AWARD
PI SIGMA ALPHA AWARD COMMITTEE

PRQ AWARD COMMITTEE

Committee on Nominations
Chair:

James Lai (2018-20)
Santa Clara University
jlai@scu.edu

Members:
Melissa Michelson, (2017-19)
Menlo College
melissa.michelson@gmail.com
Rina Williams (2019-21)
University of Cincinnati
willi3ra@UCMAIL.UC.EDU

Kimberly Nalder, (2017-19)
EC Liaison
California State University, Sacramento
klnalder@csus.edu

 

Committee on the Status of Asian Pacific Americans
Chair:

Cecilia Mo (2017-20)
University of California Berkeley
cecilia.h.mo@berkeley.edu

Members:

Jeanette Yih Harvie (2016-19)
University of California, Santa Barbara
jeanette.harvie@gmail.com

Christian Dyogi Phillips (2018-21)
University of Southern California
christiandphillips@gmail.com

Chris Haynes (2017-20)
University of New Haven
chaynes@newhaven.edu
Megan Ming Francis (2018-21)
University of Washington
meganmf@uw.edu
Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession
Chairs:

Christopher Parker (2018-21)
University of Washington
csparker@uw.edu

Members:
Chris Towler (2016-19)
Western Washington University
chris.towler@wwu.edu

Kim Williams (2017-020)
Portland State University
kmw3@pdx.edu

Chris Lee (2016-19)
Niagara University
clee@niagara.edu

Stacey Greene (2018-021)
Rutgers University
s.greene@rutgers.edu

Committee on the Status of Latinos/as in the Profession
Chair:

Bernard Fraga (2017-20)
Indiana University
bfraga@indiana.edu

Members:

Ivy Cargile (2016-19)
California State University, Bakersfield
icargile@csub.edu

Sophia Wallace (2018-21)
University of Washington
sophiajw@uw.edu

Maria Chavez-Pringle
(2016-19)
Pacific Lutheran University
chavezml@plu.edu

Angela Ocampo, (2018-21) UCLA & Arizona State University
angelaxocampo@ucla.edu

Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession
Chairs:

Susan Sterett (2016-19)
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
ssterett@umbc.edu

Members:

Melody Valdini (2017-20)
Portland State University
mev@pdx.edu

Jennifer Diascro (2016-19)
University of California, Washington Center
jennifer.diascro@ucdc.edu

Taneisha Means (2017-20)
Vassar College
tmeans@vassar.edu

Dara Strolovitch (2019-21)
Princeton University
dzs@princeton.edu


Best Paper Blacks and Politics Award:

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems which concern most Black Americans. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2018
Chairs: Christopher Parker, University of Washington, csparker@uw.edu
Chris Lee, Niagara University, clee@niagara.edu
Kim Williams, Portland State University, kmw3@pdx.edu
Chris Towler, Western Washington University, chris.towler@wwu.edu
Stacey Greene, Rutgers University, s.greene@rutgers.edu

Betty Moulds Lifetime Service Award:

Julie Novkov, SUNY Albany, jnovkov@albany.edu
Steve Nicholson, University of California, Merced, snicholson@ucmerced.edu
Ann Crigler, University of Southern California, acrigler@usc.edu

Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award:

For the best paper on women and politics presented at the Annual WPSA ($250)
Deadline: June 15, 2018
Chair: Susan Sterett, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, ssterett@umbc.edu
Jennifer Diascro, University of California, Washington Center, jennifer.diascro@ucdc.edu
Taneisha Means, Vassar College, tmeans@vassar.edu
Melody Valdini, Portland State University, mev@pdx.edu
Dara Strolovitch, Princeton University, dzs@princeton.edu

Charles Redd Center Award:

An award offered jointly by the WPSA and the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies of Brigham Young University for the best paper on the politics of the American West presented at the Convention of the WPSA. Papers may cover a broad range of topics--governance, policy, culture, politics--and may compare the West to other regions. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2018
Chair: Amy Bridges, University of California, San Diego, abridges@ucsd.edu
Andy Aoki, Augsburg University, aoki@augsburg.edu
Debra Thompson, University of Oregon, thompson@uoregon.edu

Clay Morgan Award:

John Meyer, Chair
Department of Politics, Humboldt State University
1 Harpst Street,
Arcata, CA 95521 USA Felicia Peck
Politics & Legal Studies
Merrill College
University of California Santa Cruz
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064 USA
ebooks welcome: fpeck@ucsc.edu Andrew Biro
Department of Politics
Acadia University
15 University Ave.
Wolfville, NS B4P 2R6 Canada Sarah Wiebe
Department of Political Science
Saunders 640, 2424 Maile Way
University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
Honolulu, HI, 96822, USA
ebooks preferred due to summer travel:
swiebe@hawaii.edu

Dissertation Award:

For the best doctoral dissertation completed at a university within the regional groupings of the WPSA between July 1 and June 30 of the previous academic year. ($250 award)
Deadline: October 15, 2018
Chair: Joe Lowndes, University of Oregon, jlowndes@uoregon.edu
Jennifer Sacco, Quinnipiac University, Jennifer.Sacco@quinnipiac.edu
Jennifer Merolla, University of California, Riverside, merolla@ucr.edu

Don T. Nakanishi Best Paper Award on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems that concern
Asian Pacific Americans. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2018
Chair: Cecilia Mo, Vanderbilt University, cecilia.h.mo@vanderbilt.edu
Jeanett Yih Harvie, University of California, Santa Barbara, jeanette.harvie@gmail.com
Chris Haynes, University of New Haven, chaynes@newhaven.edu
Christian Dyogi Phillips, University of Southern California, christiandphillips@gmail.com
Megan Ming Francis, University of Washington, meganmf@uw.edu

Environmental Political Theory Award

For the best paper in environmental political theory presented at the annual WPSA meeting. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2018
Chair: Christian Hunold, Drexel University, hunoldc@drexel.edu
Teena Gabrielson, University of Wyoming, tgabrie1@uwyo.edu
Gregory Koutnik, University of Pennsylvania, gkoutnik@sas.upenn.edu

Best Paper Latino/Latina Award:

For an outstanding paper on Latina/Latino politics and its relative aspects ($250)
Deadline: June 15, 2018
Chair: Bernard Fraga, Indiana University, bfraga@indiana.edu
Maria Chavez-Pringle, Pacific Lutheran University, chavezml@plu.edu
Ivy Cargile, Saint Norbert College, ivy.cargile@snc.edu
Sophia Wallace, University of Washington, sophiajw@uw.edu
Angela Ocampo, UCLA & Arizona State, angelaxocampo@ucla.edu

Pi Sigma Alpha Award:

For the best paper presented at the WPSA annual meeting. ($500 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2018
Chair: Marisa Abrajano, University of California, San Diego, mabrajano@ucsd.edu
Nazita Lajevardi, Michigan State, nazita@msu.edu
Allyson Shortle, University of Oklahoma, allysonshortle@ou

PRQ Award

The Political Research Quarterly Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PRQ during the prior calendar year. ($1000 award)

Chair: Hahrie, Han, University of California, Santa Barbara, hahrie@polsci.ucsb.edu

For information on this website, contact favilaej@csus.edu.