PROGRAM COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS IN
THE PROFESSION

COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF BLACKS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF LATINOS/AS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN THE PROFESSION
BEST PAPER ON CHICANAS/CHICANOS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE

BEST PAPER ON BLACKS AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTEE
BETTY NESVOLD WOMEN AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTE
BETTY MOULDS LIFETIME SERVICE AWARD
CHARLES REDD POLITICS OF THE AMERICAN WEST AWARD COMMITTEE
CLAY MORGAN AWARD COMMITTEE

DISSERTATION AWARD COMMITTEE
DON T. NAKANISHI BEST PAPER ON ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE
ENVIRONMENTAL POLITICAL THEORY AWARD
PI SIGMA ALPHA AWARD COMMITTEE

PRQ AWARD COMMITTEE

Committee on Nominations
Chair:

TBA

Members:
James Lai (2018-20)
Santa Clara University
jlai@scu.edu
Rina Williams (2019-21)
University of Cincinnati
willi3ra@UCMAIL.UC.EDU

TBA

TBA

Committee on the Status of Asian Pacific Americans
Chair:

Chris Haynes (2017-20)
University of New Haven
chaynes@newhaven.edu

Members:

Cecilia Mo (2017-20)
University of California, Berkeley
cecilia.h.mo@berkeley.edu

Christian Dyogi Phillips (2018-21)
University of Southern California
christiandphillips@gmail.com

Megan Ming Francis (2018-21)
University of Washington
meganmf@uw.edu
Daniel Lee (2019-22)
University of California, Berkeley
dan.lee@berkeley.edu

Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession
Chairs:

Kim Williams (2017-020)
Portland State University
kmw3@pdx.edu

Members:

Christopher Parker (2018-21)
University of Washington
csparker@uw.edu

Stacey Greene (2018-21)
Rutgers University
s.greene@rutgers.edu

Davin Phoenix (2019-22)
University of California, Irvine
dphoenix@uci.edu

Christopher Stout (2019-22)
Oregon State University
christopher.stout@oregonstate.edu

Committee on the Status of Latinos/as in the Profession
Chair:

Angela Ocampo, (2018-21)
UCLA and Arizona State University
angelaxocampo@ucla.edu

Members:

Bernard Fraga (2017-20)
Indiana University
bfraga@indiana.edu

Angel Molina (2017-20)
Arizona State University
almolin5@asu.edu

Sophia Wallace (2018-21)
University of Washington
sophiajw@uw.edu

Claudia Sandoval (2019-22)
Loyola Marymount University
Claudia.Sandoval@lmu.edu

Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession
Chairs:

Melody Valdini (2017-20)
Portland State University
mev@pdx.edu

Members:

Taneisha Means (2017-20)
Vassar College
tmeans@vassar.edu

Dara Strolovitch (2019-21)
Princeton University
dzs@princeton.edu

 

Linda Alvarez (2019-22)
California State University, Northridge
linda.alvarez@csun.edu

Alissa Kessel (2019-22)
Puget Sound University
akessel@pugetsound.edu


Best Paper Blacks and Politics Award:

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems which concern most Black Americans. ($250 award) Deadline: June 15, 2019

Chairs:
Kim Williams
Portland State University
kmw3@pdx.edu

Stacey Greene
Rutgers University
s.greene@rutgers.edu

Christopher Parker
University of Washington
csparker@uw.edu

Davin Phoenix
University of California, Irvine
dphoenix@uci.edu

Christopher Stout
Oregon State University
christopher.stout@oregonstate.edu

Betty Moulds Lifetime Service Award:

Chair: Jane Junn
University of Southern California
junn@usc.edu

Louis DeSipio
University of California, Irvine
ldesipio@uci.edu

Ronald Schmidt
California State University, Long Beach
Ron.Schmidt@csulb.edu

Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award:

For the best paper on women and politics presented at the Annual WPSA ($250)
Deadline: June 15, 2019

Chair: Melody Valdini
Portland State University
mev@pdx.edu

Linda Alvarez
California State University, Northridge
linda.alvarez@csun.edu

Alissa Kessel
Puget Sound University
akessel@pugetsound.edu

Taneisha Means
Vassar College
tmeans@vassar.edu

Dara Strolovitch
Princeton University
dzs@princeton.edu

Charles Redd Center Award:

An award offered jointly by the WPSA and the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies of Brigham Young University for the best paper on the politics of the American West presented at the Convention of the WPSA. Papers may cover a broad range of topics--governance, policy, culture, politics--and may compare the West to other regions. ($250 award)

Deadline:
June 15, 2019
Chair: Barbara Morris
SUNY Oneanta
barbaramorris726@gmail.com

Gwen Arnold
University of California, Davis
gbarnold@ucdavis.edu

Tony Carey
University of North Texas
Tony.Carey@unt.edu

Clay Morgan Award:

Chair: Teena Gabrielson
University of Wyoming
tgabrie1@uwyo.edu

Andrew Biro
Acadia University
andrew.biro@acadiau.ca

Jennifer Lawrence
Virginia Tech
jennlaw@vt.edu

Emily Ray
Sonoma State University
emily.ray@sonoma.edu

Dissertation Award:

For the best doctoral dissertation completed at a university within the regional groupings of the WPSA between July 1 and June 30 of the previous academic year. ($250 award)

Deadline: October 15, 2019

Chair: Boyka Stefanova
University of Texas, San Antonio
boyka.stefanova@utsa.edu

Teena Gabrielson
University of Wyoming
tgabrie1@uwyo.edu

Robin Jacobson
Puget Sound University
rjacobson@pugetsound.edu

Don T. Nakanishi Best Paper Award on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems that concern
Asian Pacific Americans. ($250 award)

Deadline: June 15, 2019

Chair: Chris Haynes
University of New Haven
CHaynes@newhaven.edu

Megan Ming Francis
University of Washington
meganmf@uw.edu
2018-21

Daniel Lee
University of California, Berkeley
dan.lee@berkeley.edu

Cecilia Mo
University of California, Berkeley
cecilia.h.mo@berkeley.edu

Christian Dyogi Phillips
University of Southern California
christian.d.phillips@usc.edu

Environmental Political Theory Award

For the best paper in environmental political theory presented at the annual WPSA meeting. ($250 award)

Deadline:
June 15, 2019

Chair: Rafi Youatt
New School for Social Research
youattr@newschool.edu

Cheryl Hall
University of South Florida
chall@usf.edu

Sarah Surak
Salisbury University
smsurak@salisbury.edu

Best Paper Latino/Latina Award:

For an outstanding paper on Latina/Latino politics and its relative aspects ($250)

Deadline:
June 15, 2019

Chair: Angela Ocampo
University of Michigan
axocampo@umich.edu

Bernard Fraga
Indiana University
bfraga@indiana.edu

Angel Molina
Arizona State University
almolin5@asu.edu

Claudia Sandoval
Loyola Marymount University
Claudia.Sandoval@lmu.edu

Sophia Wallace
University of Washington
sophiajw@uw.edu

Pi Sigma Alpha Award:

For the best paper presented at the WPSA annual meeting. ($500 award)

Deadline:
June 15, 2019

Chair: Brian Mello
Muhlenberg College
brianmello@muhlenberg.edu

Neil Chatervedi
Cal Poly Pomona
nschaturvedi@cpp.edu

Inés Valdez
Ohio State University
valdezi@polisci.osu.edu

PRQ Award

The Political Research Quarterly Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PRQ during the prior calendar year. ($1000 award)

Chair: Susan McWilliams Barndt
Pomona College
susan.mcwilliams@pomona.edu

Sarah Allen Gershon
Georgia State University
sgershon@gsu.edu

Rene Rocha
University of Iowa
rene-rocha@uiowa.edu

For information on this website, contact favilaej@csus.edu.